Manager ApplicationPlaybooksUser Guide

Manage Teams and Users

By June 2, 2019 February 11th, 2020 No Comments

Manage Teams and Users

How do I create teams and manage users in Playbooks?

Playbooks simplifies employee management with the convenience of Playbooks Teams. Add new users to Playbooks or make structural changes based on your organization’s needs.

This article describes how to add and remove users and manage your Playbooks Teams.

Adding a Team

Create specific teams that unify agents with a distinct initiative. Add as many teams as your structure requires.

Note: Your Playbooks team structure must match the organization hierarchy implemented in your CRM.

To Add a Team

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click the green plus button
  4. Click Create New
  5. Name your team
  6. Map your team to an existing CRM team
  7. Select Lead or Contact for the Create Record As dropdown
  8. Select the Disposition Set
  9. Select Caller Id Default
  10. Check or uncheck the Honor records marked Do Not Call box
  11. Check or uncheck the Honor records marked Do Not Email box
  12. Optionally Check or uncheck the Monitor Ownership Changes box
  13. Click SAVE

Editing a Team

Occasionally the directive of a team may change, but the people in the group remain the same. Instead of moving all existing agents into a new group, edit the team directly.

To Edit a Team

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the team name
  4. Click Edit
  5. Optionally change your team name
  6. Optionally change selection for the Create Record As dropdown
  7. Optionally change the Disposition Set
  8. Optionally update Caller Id Default
  9. Optionally change selection for the Honor records marked Do Not Call box
  10. Optionally change selection for the Honor records marked Do Not Email box
  11. Optionally change selection for the Monitor Ownership Changes box
  12. Click SAVE

Deleting a Team

Changes in your organization will sometimes present the need to delete an entire team. Keep your Playbooks hierarchy on the same page as your company by deleting old or unused teams.

Note: In order to delete a team, you must first remove all users from specified team.

To Delete a Team

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the team name
  4. Click Delete
  5. Click CONTINUE
Tip: Before you dive into user management, make note of the green Export Users button on the bottom, right-hand side of the application. Clicking this button will download a CSV file of all your users directly to your computer.

Adding a User

In the Playbooks Manager Application, users can be accessed from the Teams tab as well as the People tab. The Teams tab allows you to add users to your team directly from your CRM. A user must exist in your CRM hierarchy before you can add them to your team. Saving a member to your team will automatically send an email invitation for that user to join Playbooks.

Tip: Use the Playbooks Manager Application > People tab to view license usage and availability. You can see active users and invitations that have been sent to future users.

To Add a User

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click a team name
  4. Click the green plus button
  5. Check the box next to users that you would like to add
  6. Click SAVE

Editing a User

Update a user’s basic attributes, such as phone numbers, permissions or call recording settings directly from the Teams tab. From this tab, you can send a password reset to users or even remove them from their current team.

Note: Even though you have the ability to edit some of these attributes and remove users directly through the Playbooks Manager Application > People tab, a more comprehensive list of options is presented when you edit the user record directly through the Teams tab.

To Edit a User

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click a team name
  4. Click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the agent’s name
  5. Click Edit
  6. Optionally make any changes to any of the available attributes
  7. Optionally reset a password by clicking SEND RESET INSTRUCTIONS
  8. Optionally remove a user from a Team by clicking REMOVE FROM TEAM
Tip: Reset passwords or change permissions for multiple users simultaneously by utilizing the green checkboxes on the left-hand side of the application. After selecting the users you would like to update, click ACTIONS and select Reset Passwords or Change Permissions.

Removing a User

You can remove users from teams directly or from Playbooks altogether.

Note: Remove users from Playbooks before deleting them from your CRM. This preempts any CRM synchronization errors between the two systems.

To Remove a User

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click a team name
  4. Click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the agent’s name
  5. Click Remove From Team (to remove from a Playbooks Team) OR
    Click Delete User (to remove user from Playbooks completely)
  6. Click CONTINUE
Tip: Remove or delete multiple users simultaneously by utilizing the green checkboxes on the left-hand side of the application. Once you’ve selected the users you would like to remove, click ACTIONS and select Remove From Team or Delete Users.

Moving a User from One Team to Another

When there are changes in your organization, you can easily move agents from one team to another. A combination of removing the user from their current team and adding them to a new one is required.

Note: Be sure that you have made the changes in your CRM hierarchy so that Playbooks will recognize that your agent is on a new team. Failing to complete this step will prevent your agent from showing up as an option to add to their new team.

To Move a User to a New Team

  1. Open the Playbooks Manager Application
  2. Click the Teams tab
  3. Click the user’s old team name
  4. Click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the agent’s name
  5. Click Remove From Team
  6. Click CONTINUE
  7. Click the Teams tab
  8. Click the user’s new team name
  9. Click the green plus button
  10. Check the box next to the user that you would like to add
  11. Click SAVE
Note: It may take up to 6 hours for your agent to be able to access Plays and Templates that are shared with their new Team. You may hear support engineers refer to this as an agent’s backend cache.
Related Article: Manage Permission Groups

Click this message to learn more about granting additional Playbooks access by updating permission group assignments.

Related Article: Manage Call Dispositions

Use the default disposition set that Playbooks provides or create your own. Click this message to learn how you can create custom disposition sets for your teams.

Monitor Ownership Changes Checkbox Explained

Configuring Playbooks to monitor ownership changes sets a trigger to remove a record from your agent’s instance of Playbooks if they are no longer the owner of that record. For example, if you choose to have Playbooks monitor an “Owner Id” or “Owner Name” field and the value changes, Playbooks will recognize that ownership has changed and remove that record from the previous agent’s instance of Playbooks.

Was this article helpful?